Preview Tracks:

About    Credits    Video    Connect  

"Livin Free is the most ambitious project to date from New Hampshire reggae-rock outfit Roots of Creation. Appropriately riffing on their home state’s motto, “Live Free or Die,” the release comes as either an impressive 18-track album or an even more impressive three-album set that features the original studio recordings, plus acoustic and dub/remix versions of most of the tracks. Focusing on the songs themselves, the expansive collection offers up an array of both feel-good rhythms and rhymes, and socially conscious messages, with enough variety in the mix that even the extended tracklist doesn’t get too stale. There’s the “good times with friends” ethos of “Different,” contrasted with the darker riffs and subject matter of “Uplift,” with a healthy dose of R-rated love song with “Oh Lord,” and even some not-so-chill vibes with “Punk RoC.” Jerry Garcia Band keyboardist Melvin Seals adds his flavor to “Struggle,” a introspective rumination on striving for success, and, elsewhere on the album, the RoC boys display a more direct connection to the Grateful Dead with their cover of “Row Jimmy,” which translates the Dead sound surprisingly well to the slightly sped-up reggae template." - Relix Magazine

Read more:

On April 22nd, 2016, Roots of Creation will release what frontman Brett Wilson calls their “biggest project ever.” Livin Free, a nod to the New Hampshire motto, marks the band’s third studio release, but it’s so much more than an 18-track LP. In addition to digital and retail CDs of the LP, Livin Free will be available as a 3-disc deluxe collection with both dub/remix and acoustic versions of 14 of the LP’s tracks in digital and CD formats. Also, limited edition, hand-numbered (1/500), splatter/colored, double 12” vinyl will be available on May 6th. The iTunes pre-order for the complete digital deluxe collection will begin on March 18th and include instant downloads of tracks “Struggle,” “Row Jimmy” (Grateful Dead), and “3x A Lady.” Livin Free features guest performances by Melvin Seals (Jerry Garcia Band), Marshall “Ras MG” Goodman (Sublime, Long Beach Dub Allstars), the Rubblebucket horn section, Billy Kottage (Reel Big Fish), Bill Carbone (Zach Deputy, Max Creek), Grammy- nominated Pato Banton (Sting, UB40), and Mighty Mystic. Additionally, the album welcomes guest production by Yeti Beats (G. Love, Slightly Stoopid) on “3x A Lady,” and Ras MG on “Struggle (Ras MG Remix).” Livin Free was produced by Brett Wilson, co- produced by Pete Peloquin and Roots of Creation, and executive produced by Omen8 Production and the RoC Pledgers. All songs were engineered and mixed by Pete “Boardz” Peloquin (Gov’t Mule, OAR), except a handful by Craig “Dubfader” Welsch (G. Love, John Brown’s Body), Yeti Beats, and Roger Lima (Less Than Jake). The album was mastered by Grammy-nominated mastering engineer Jay Frigoletto (Alice In Chains, Black Eyed Peas). Prior to the LP’s release, a maxi-single/EP of the album’s first single, “Struggle,” will be released on March 4th. This includes four unique versions of the song, one featuring Melvin Seals and Marshall “Ras MG” Goodman, another featuring only Melvin Seals, one remixed by Ras MG, and finally a solo acoustic version by Brett Wilson. “I never imagined that after listening to Sublime and Long Beach Dub Allstars religiously in my youth that I would ever be collaborating with Ras MG,” says Brett Wilson. "He is a true musician. He pushed me to the max and inspired me to keep my ears open to new sounds and ideas. ‘Struggle’ is the newest song on the album. It’s inspired by having played a solo acoustic set right before DJs in Manchester, NH, and how everyone’s life is a struggle.”