Preview Tracks:

About    Credits    Connect  

The third album from Gretchen's Wheel, Sad Scientist (March 17, 2017, Futureman Records), finds singer-songwriter and multi-instrumentalist Lindsay Murray grappling with some of life’s most profound questions.

In the later half of 2016, Murray began writing and recording the material that would become Sad Scientist from her home studio near Nashville. The album’s title was inspired by Murray’s approach to songwriting and outlook on life. “The act of songwriting and recording music is my ‘sad science’... turning sadness or other negative emotions into something better.”

The first single from Sad Scientist ("Left Turn") is included on this NoiseTrade sampler, along with three more tracks selected from the previous two Gretchen's Wheel albums, Fragile State and Behind the Curtain. Released in 2015, Fragile State was the debut album from Gretchen's Wheel. The album was produced by Ken Stringfellow (The Posies, Big Star, R.E.M.) and featured drums by Ira Elliot (Nada Surf). Behind the Curtain, released on Futureman Records in 2016, was Murray's first self-produced album and also featured drums by Elliot.